Informations

About La Grande Ferme

A key player in the settlement and development of the colony of New France, La Grande Ferme is a must-visit destination for those seeking to learn more about the fascinating history of the French in North America.

During the first half of the 17th century, Compagnie de Beaupré, which was in charge of settling the Beaupré Seigneury, built the farm known as La Ferme d’en-haut.

Building on the original farm, Monsignor de Laval, Québec’s first bishop, established La Grande Ferme, with a view to providing food for the Québec Seminary, which he had just founded. From 1668 to 1685, the bishop, on behalf of the Seminary, had an extension built on the east side of the original house, along with several farm buildings, including a barn and a stable, as well as a perimeter wall and a church, which was expanded in 1725.

On August 23, 1759, British troops passed through the area, marking the beginning of a difficult period for La Grande Ferme, as the land was divided up and shared among the Seigneury’s other farms. The house was reduced to one third of its original size and, as a result, La Grande Ferme was no longer the focus of community life.

However, in 1866, the current house was erected, in an effort to revitalize the farm. A wharf was also built so that, when the tides were favorable, the food produced by the Seminary’s farms could be shipped to Québec City.

In 1975, the house, now recognized as a historic monument, along with a tiny part of the original land, was purchased from the Seminary by the Government of Québec. Then, in 1979, three centuries after its founding, La Grande Ferme revived its educational vocation, becoming a heritage learning center. Today, the mission of La Grande Ferme is to promote the region’s rich and fascinating heritage.

Opening Hours

June 25 to October 12, Wednesday to Sunday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

After October 31, upon reservation only

Nicolas Roumier

Message from the Executive Director

Since joining the team in the winter of 2020, my job as executive director of La Grande Ferme has been an exciting and wonderfully educational journey. And the challenges I encounter in my daily tasks, be they human, technical, or financial, are made considerably easier by the dedicated and highly efficient team who are always keen to support and promote all manner of original ideas.

Whether it’s overhauling our exhibits, developing new uses for La Grande Ferme (community, market, and heritage gardens), or for innovative digital projects, all of our staff are committed to a common cause—ensuring the long-term success of La Grande Ferme and cultivating a sense of pride in their heritage among the residents of the Côte-de-Beaupré region.

While the challenges are considerable, I know our talented and competent team is up to the task, and I am proud to be part of this initiative to showcase a centuries-old heritage, that of the original breadbasket of New France and Québec.

The team

Cathy Boivin

Kitchens

Audrey-Ann Tremblay

Responsible for cultural mediation

Anne-Marie Guilbaut

Kitchens

Martine Verreault

Kitchens

Julienne Duchesne

Kitchens

Board of Directors

Lucien Tremblay

Message from the Chair

La Grande Ferme will soon celebrate its 40th anniversary. Since its creation, the organization has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to provide quality services that meet the highest standards demanded of it. I was there when La Grande Ferme opened and, with the exception of a few years away from the organization, I have continued to serve right up until today, so I have had the privilege of being witness to the results of the team’s efforts and to the capacity of La Grande Ferme to adapt to the times.

Of course, the needs have evolved, but the employees and volunteers have always managed to adapt to those needs, even forty years after the organization’s founding. From pilot project to municipal organization to not-for-profit organization, La Grande Ferme has always produced such high-quality offerings that Québec’s Ministry of Culture and Communications agreed to invest a little over $2.1 million to renovate the site. Moreover, La Grande Ferme has always been an effective and valuable community partner. 

Congratulations to the founding members and to all those who have continued to proudly carry the torch in such brilliant fashion! If our organization’s past successes are anything to go by, we can look forward to many more wonderful years to come.

Sylvie Tremblay

Vice-President

Jean Bouchard

Secretary-Treasurer

Marie-Claude Bourbeau

Administrator

Gilles Yanor

Administrator

Administrator

Position to be filled

Informations

À propos de La Grande Ferme

Indispensable dans l’évolution et la construction de la colonie de la Nouvelle-France, la Grande Ferme est un incontournable à visiter lorsqu’on veut en apprendre plus sur la grande histoire de la France en Amérique du Nord.

Pendant la première moitié du XVIIe siècle, la Compagnie de Beaupré, responsable du peuplement de la Seigneurie de Beaupré, bâtit la Ferme d’en — haut.

À partir de cette exploitation agricole, Mgr de Laval établit la Grande Ferme dans le but de subvenir aux besoins alimentaires du Séminaire de Québec qu’il vient d’instituer. De 1668 à 1685, le premier évêque de Québec et le Séminaire font construire du côté est une rallonge à la maison existante, des bâtiments de ferme, dont une grange et une étable, un mur d’enceinte et une église qui sera agrandie en 1725.

Le 23 août 1759, lors du passage des Anglais, La Grande Ferme subit d’importantes pertes. Le territoire est alors morcelé au profit des autres fermes du Séminaire. La maison est réduite au tiers de sa superficie et La Grande Ferme perd alors sa fonction de centre de la vie communautaire.

Toutefois, en 1866, dans un effort de relance de cette ferme, la maison actuelle est construite. Un quai est également bâti pour acheminer à Québec, au gré des marées, les denrées alimentaires des fermes du Séminaire.

En 1975, la maison, reconnue comme monument historique et une infime partie du terrain originel, sont achetées au Séminaire par le gouvernement du Québec. En 1979, La Grande Ferme renoue, trois siècles plus tard, avec sa vocation éducative; elle devient le Centre d’initiation au patrimoine – La Grande Ferme qui a comme mission de faire découvrir à la population toute la richesse du patrimoine de la région.

Heures d’ouverture

Du lundi au vendredi de 10h à 16h. 

Nicolas Roumier

Mot du directeur

Travailler comme directeur général au sein de la Grande Ferme est un défi quotidien palpitant et riche d’enseignement depuis mon arrivée à l’hiver 2020. Les défis humains, techniques et financiers que je rencontre sont considérablement facilités par la présence d’une équipe de travail soudée et efficace qui adhère aux idées originales qui leur sont proposées.

Que ce soit lors de la refonte des expositions, pour les nouveaux usages de la Grande Ferme (jardin communautaire, vivrier et ancestral) ou bien pour les projets numériques innovants mis en place, tous les membres du personnel ont à cœur d’œuvrer dans une seule direction : la réussite de la Grande Ferme et la fierté des habitants de la Côte-de-Beaupré envers leur patrimoine.

Les défis sont importants, certes, mais je me sais bien entouré et fier de pouvoir mettre de l’avant ce patrimoine multicentenaire, grenier originel du développement du Québec de la Nouvelle-France.

Présentation de l’équipe

Cathy Boivin

Cuisines

Audrey-Ann Tremblay

Responsable de la médiation culturelle

Anne-Marie Guilbaut

Cuisines

Martine Verreault

Cuisines

Julienne Duchesne

Cuisines

Conseil d’administration

Lucien Tremblay

Mot du président

La Grande Ferme fêtera bientôt ses quarante ans. Depuis le début, l’organisation a su témoigner d’une volonté inébranlable afin d’assurer la qualité des services rendus et la satisfaction des autorités face au travail accompli. J’ai eu la chance d’être un témoin des résultats obtenus ainsi que de la capacité de s’ajuster démontrée par la Grande Ferme, puisque j’étais là à l’ouverture de la Grande Ferme jusqu’à aujourd’hui malgré trois périodes pendant lesquelles j’ai dû quitter.

Bien sûr, les mandats ont évolué, mais les employés et les bénévoles ont toujours dû s’ajuster pour se rendre jusqu’à aujourd’hui, presque quarante ans plus tard.  De projet pilote à organisme municipal, à Organisme à but non lucratif, la qualité des réalisations de La Grande Ferme s’est toujours manifestée au point où le ministère de la Culture et des Communications y a investi un peu plus de 2,1 MM$ afin de rénover le site. De plus, La Grande Ferme a toujours su s’intégrer et contribuer à son milieu.

Bravo aux membres fondateurs de même qu’à tous ceux qui ont continué à porter le flambeau de façon aussi brillante. Si le passé est garant de l’avenir, nous ne pouvons qu’espérer encore plusieurs belles années à notre organisation.

Sylvie Tremblay

Vice-Présidente

Jean Bouchard

Secrétaire-trésorier

Marie-Claude Bourbeau

Administratrice

Gilles Yanor

Administrateur

Administrateur-trice

Poste à combler